## INTRODUCTION

The publication MUNICIPALITIES OF THE KRÁLOVÉHRADECKÝ REGION brought out already for the eleven time and was prepared for our readers and users of the regional data in the Czech-English version extended about some data in the time series for the seventh time. In this publication you can find the figures refer to 2013 and the territorial structure is valid as at 1 January 2015. The publication does not differ by its methodology and contents from those brought out last years. There are the municipalities in alphabetical order in the tables.

As at 1 January 2015 all 448 municipalities (including 48 towns) of the Královéhradecký Region were part of 15 administrative districts of municipalities with extended powers and 35 administrative districts of municipalities with authorized municipal office defined by act.

Act No. 314/2002 Coll., of 13 June 2002, which took effect on 1 January 2003, laid down a list of municipalities with extended powers and municipalities with authorized municipal office. Following up this Act, the Ministry of the Interior of the CR issued its Decree No. 388/2002 Coll. to establish administrative districts of these municipalities. Classification of municipalities to administrative districts was amended by Decree No. 388/2004 Coll. of 24 June 2004 with effect on 1 January 2005, which modifies the decree from 2002, and changes took place in delimitation of administrative districts for the Královéhradecký Region. The municipalities as Čermná, Očelice and Staré Smrkovice were moved to other administrative districts within the region.

Based on the Decree No. 513/2006 Coll., which modifies the Decree No. 564/2002 Coll., on the districts of the Czech Republic, the following municipalities **Jílovice**, **Ledce** and **Vysoký Újezd** were shifted between the districts Rychnov nad Kněžnou and **Hradec Králové** as at 1 January 2007.

No municipality have been made in the Královéhradecký Region in 2014, only one new townlet Velký Vřešťov on the Act No. 234/2006 Coll., which modifies the Act No. 128/2000 Coll., on municipalities, the Chairman of the Parliament enacted new towns and townlets. Municipalities that became townlets from year 2006 are the eleven followig: Černý Důl, Doudleby nad Orlicí, Častolovice, Nový Hrádek, Velké Poříčí, Machov, Mladé Buky, Podhradí, Mlázovice, Pecka and Velký Vřešťov.

As at the end of 2013, the Královéhradecký Region had 551,909 inhabitants, which is 5.3% of the total CR's population. The most populated by the territorial structure as at 1 January 2015 is the Hradec Králové District with more than 163,000 inhabitants. On the other hand, the smallest as for population is the Rychnov nad Kněžnou District with 79,000 inhabitants. With its 116 inhabitants per square kilometre the Region is under the national average (133 inhabitants per sq km). Population density differs also one district from another being the highest in the Hradec Králové District (182 inhabitants per sq km) and the lowest in the Rychnov nad Kněžnou District (80 inhabitants per sq km).

This publication is constructed to two main parts. The first part contains data about municipalities of the Královéhradecký Region and the second part data by territories of districts, administrative districts of municipalities with extended powers and size groups of municipalities by population. The tables show basic territorial characteristics, areas, the number of population, basic demographic data, the number of businesses, housing construction and turnout by type of elections. Table 2-9. contains selected data on towns and table 2-10. data on administrative districts of municipalities with authorized municipal office. Table 2-11. gives overview of districts and their administrative districts.

Actual list of addresses and contacts on municipal authorities, addresses of selected regional offices and list of regional publications prepared by catalogue of products 2015 are included.

We will also welcome your prospective suggestions and comments regarding the contexts of this publication, which you can adress to our CZSO, Information Services Unit Hradec Králové <u>infoservishk@czso.cz</u>.