Methodological notes of external trade in goods according to the movement (cross-border concept)

The source of data on external trade is information collected by customs authorities. Starting from processing of the January 2004 data, data collection and the first check are carried out by the Customs Administration of the Czech Republic, whereas the Czech Statistical Office is in charge of further data processing, checks and publishing.

In compliance with the binding regulations of the EU, the measurement of data on exports and imports is governed by Customs law No. 242/2016 Coll., from 14 July 2016. Intrastat is governed by Government regulation No. 244/2016 Coll. from 18 May 2016 implementing several provisions of Customs law in the scope of statistics.

External trade statistics is made up of the sum of intra-Community trade (trade with the EU Member States) and trade with non-EU countries. Data on goods traded between Member States of the Communities are supplied by reporting units to the customs office on the Intrastat forms, with information on dispatches of goods or arrivals of goods. Data on imported and exported goods in trade with non-EU countries are given in a Single Administrative Document. The Intrastat data processing includes mathematical and statistical imputations, which compensate for information lost due to non-response and introduction of statistical thresholds.

Cross-border concept of external trade reflects only physical movements of goods across the border regardless of whether the trade between the Czech and foreign entities occurs. These data are internationally comparable and can be used as indicators of development of value of the trade.

Data on exports are compiled by country of destination and data on imports are compiled by country of origin.

Data on external trade in USD and in EUR are calculated, using average monthly exchange rate in a given period as reported by the Czech National Bank.

The data for individual months of 2016 are final. The data for individual months of 2017 and 2018 are preliminary.

Casual differences on the last digit position arise from rounding off the absolute number.

EU28 (European Union) - member states of the European Union from 1 July 2013:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

Eurozone19 (Euro area – monetary union of 19 European Union member states):

Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain

Neighbouring countries:

Austria, Germany, Poland, Slovakia