26. ADMINISTRATIVE DISTRICTS, MUNICIPALITIES

The Act No 314/2002 Sb, on determination of municipalities with authorized municipal authority and determination of municipalities with extended powers of 13 June 2002 that became effective on 1 January 2003 laid down the list of municipalities with extended powers and municipalities with authorized municipal authority. Following the Act, the Ministry of the Interior issued its Decree No 388/2002 Sb establishing administrative districts of these municipalities. Belonging of municipalities to administrative districts was provided for as at 1 January 2005 by the Decree No 388/2004 Sb of 24 June 2004, which modified the Decree No 388/2002 Sb, on determination of administrative districts of municipalities with authorized municipal authority and administrative districts of municipalities with extended powers.

A **town** is a municipality that was granted the status of a town pursuant to the Act on Municipalities. Tables **26-10**. and **26-11**. give an overview of towns in the respective egions in alphabetical order. Table **26-12**. contains selected data on regional towns of the Czech Republic in the order by their population size.

A municipality is a basic territorial self-governing community of citizens. It forms a territorial unit defined by boundaries. Table 26-13. gives selected data on respective municipalities pooled together to make administrative districts of municipalities with extended powers (according to the territorial structure valid as at 31 December 2017). The figure in brackets following the name of an administrative district is an official numerical code corresponding to the nomenclature issued by the CZSO.

Selected types of establishments in municipalities were surveyed by a territorial method (including detached workplaces) regardless of the seat of the operator. A municipality is considered to be equipped with a given type of establishment if at least one part of the municipality is equipped with it. The number of businesses includes those businesses, which have their seat on the given territory (not just their establishment / operational unit).