27. TERRITORIAL COMPARISONS

Based on the Constitutional Act No 347/1997 Sb, on the Establishment of Higher Territorial Self-Governing Units of 3 December 1997, the Czech Republic was divided into 14 regions on 1 January 2000. The Czech Statistical Office introduced the Classification of Territorial Statistical Units (CZ-NUTS) according to this Act and the Resolution of the Government of the Czech Republic No 707/1998, and Section 19, paragraph 1 of the Act No 89/1995 Sb on the State Statistical Service, and following an agreement with the Statistical Office of the European Communities (Eurostat).

The NUTS classification (from the French version Nomenclature des Unités Territoriales Statistiques) is a fundamental systematic tool for the needs of statistics, analyses, and needs of providing of statistical information to the European Union. It is used for the statistical monitoring and analyses of social and economic conditions in the regions, as well as for the preparation, implementation, and evaluation of regional policies. At the NUTS 2 level it is used mainly for drawing of funds from the EU Structural Funds.

The Classification of Territorial Statistical Units (CZ-NUTS) was updated by the Communication of the CZSO No 201/2007 Sb effective from 1 January 2008. At present, the Classification has four NUTS levels, which are characterized by their population size and area. At lower levels so-called Local Administrative Units (LAUs) have been introduced. Prague is not broken down into LAU levels. The EU legislation instruments, however, do not introduce the LAU system.

NUTS 0 ... refers to the state of the Czech Republic

NUTS 1 ... refers to the territory of the Czech Republic

NUTS 2 ... refers to cohesion regions, i.e. to 8 groupings of regions

NUTS 3 ... refers to regions, i.e. to 14 higher territorial self-governing units

LAU 1refers to districts, i.e. to 76 districts and Prague (Hl. m. Praha, Capital City of Prague)

LAU 2 refers to municipalities, i.e. to 6 258municipalities (as at 1 January 2017)

Overview of NUTS 2 cohesion regions and NUTS 3 regions:

Praha –Hl. m. Praha Region Střední Čechy –Středočeský Region

Jihozápad – Jihočeský Region and Plzeňský Region Severozápad – Karlovarský Region and Ústecký Region

Severovýchod – Liberecký Region, Královéhradecký Region, and Pardubický Region

Jihovýchod –Vysočina Region and Jihomoravský Region Střední Morava –Olomoucký Region and Zlínský Region

Moravskoslezsko – Moravskoslezský *Region*

* * *