## 26. CAPITAL CITY OF PRAGUE AND CITY SECTIONS

The Act No 314/2002 Sb of 13 June 2002, which became effective on 1 January 2003, laid down the list of **municipalities with extended powers** and **municipalities with authorized municipal office**. Following to this Act, the Ministry of the Interior issued its Decree No 388/2002 Sb establishing administrative districts of these municipalities. The Decree No 388/2004 Sb of 24 June 2004 and effective on 1 January 2005 modified the classification of municipalities to administrative districts by amending the decree of 2002.

A **town** means a municipality, which has been granted the status of town pursuant to the Act on Municipalities. Tables **26-**10 and **26-**11 give an overview of towns in the respective regions in an alphabetical order. Table **26-**12 contains selected data on regional towns of the Czech Republic in the order by their population size.

A **municipality** is a basic territorial self-governing community of citizens. It forms a territorial unit defined by boundaries. Table **26-**13 gives selected data on respective municipalities pooled together to make administrative districts of municipalities with extended powers (according to the territorial structure valid as at 31 December 2015). The figure in brackets following the name of an administrative district is an official numerical code corresponding to the nomenclature issued by the CZSO.

**Selected types of establishments in municipalities** were surveyed by a territorial method (including detached workplaces) regardless of the seat of the operator. A municipality is considered to be equipped with a given type of establishment if at least one part of the municipality is equipped with it. The number of businesses includes businesses, which have their seat (not only a branch) on the given territory.