## 27. TERRITORIAL COMPARISONS

Based on the Constitutional Act No. 347/1997 Sb., on the Establishment of Higher Territorial Self-Governing Units of 3 December 1997, the Czech Republic was subdivided into 14 regions on 1 January 2000. The Czech Statistical Office introduced the Classification of Territorial Statistical Units (CZ-NUTS) according to this Act and the Resolution of the Government of the Czech Republic No. 707/1998, and Section 19, paragraph 1 of the Act No. 89/1995 Sb. on the State Statistical Service, and following an agreement with the Statistical Office of the European Communities (Eurostat).

The NUTS (La Nomenclature des Unités Territoriales Statistiques) classification is a fundamental systematic tool for the needs of statistics, analyses, and needs of providing of statistical information to the European Union. It is used for the statistical monitoring and analyses of social and economic conditions in the regions, as well as for the preparation, implementation, and evaluation of regional policies. At the NUTS 2 level it is, in particular, used for drawing of finances from the EU Structural Funds.

The Classification of Territorial Statistical Units (CZ-NUTS) was updated by the Communication of the CZSO No. 201/2007 Sb. effective from 1 January 2008. At present the Classification has four levels of NUTS, which are characterized by population size and area. At lower levels so-called "Local Administrative Units" (LAU) have been introduced. The EU legislation instruments, however, do not introduce the LAU system.

NUTS 0 ... refers to the state of the Czech Republic

NUTS 1 ... refers to the territory of the Czech Republic

NUTS 2 ... refers to cohesion regions, i.e. to 8 groupings of regions

NUTS 3 ... refers to 14 regions, i.e. to higher territorial self-governing units - HTSU

LAU 1 ..... refers to districts, i.e. to 76 districts and Hl. m. Praha in total

LAU 2 ..... refers to municipalities, i.e. to 6 253 municipalities (Hl. m. Praha is one unit)

## Overview of NUTS 2 cohesion regions and NUTS 3 regions:

Praha – Hl. m. Praha Region (Capital City of Prague)

Střední Čechy – Středočeský Region

Jihozápad – Jihočeský and Plzeňský Regions Severozápad – Karlovarský and Ústecký Regions

Severovýchod – Liberecký, Královéhradecký, and Pardubický Regions

Jihovýchod – Vysočina and Jihomoravský Regions Střední Morava – Olomoucký and Zlínský Regions Moravskoslezsko – Moravskoslezský Region