27. TERRITORIAL COMPARISONS

Based on the Constitutional Act No. 347/1997 Sb., on the Establishment of Higher Territorial Self-Governing Units of 3 December 1997, the Czech Republic was subdivided into 14 regions on 1 January 2000. The Czech Statistical Office introduced the Classification of Territorial Statistical Units (CZ-NUTS) according to this Act and the Decision of the Government of the Czech Republic No. 707/1998, and Section 19, paragraph 1 of the Act No. 89/1995 Sb. on the State Statistical Service, and following an agreement with the Statistical Office of the European Communities (Eurostat).

The NUTS (La Nomenclature des Unités Territoriales Statistiques) classification constitutes a fundamental systematic tool for the needs of statistics, analyses, and needs of providing of statistical information to the European Union. It is used for the statistical monitoring and analyses of social and economic conditions in the regions, as well as for the preparation, implementation, and evaluation of regional policies. At the level of NUTS 2 it is, in particular, used for the drawing finances from the so-called Structural Funds of the EU.

Effective since 1 January 2008 the Classification of Territorial Statistical Units (CZ-NUTS) was updated by the Communication of the CZSO No. 201/2007 Sb. At present the Classification has four levels of NUTS, which are characterized by population and area. At lower levels so-called "Local Administrative Units" (LAU) have been newly introduced. The EU legislation instruments, however, do not introduce the LAU system.

- NUTS 0 refers to the state of the Czech Republic
- NUTS 1 refers to the territory of the Czech Republic
- NUTS 2 refers to areas (cohesion regions), i.e. to 8 groupings of regions
- NUTS 3 refers to 14 regions, i.e. to higher territorial self-governing units HTSU
- LAU 1 refers to districts, i.e. to 76 districts and Hl. m. Praha in total
- LAU 2 refers to municipalities, i.e. to 6 249 municipalities (HI. m. Praha is one unit)

Overview of NUTS2 areas and NUTS3 regions:

Praha - Hl. m. Praha Region (Capital City of Prague)

Střední Čechy - Středočeský Region

Jihozápad - Jihočeský Region and Plzeňský Region Severozápad - Karlovarský Region and Ústecký Region

Severovýchod - Liberecký Region, Královéhradecký Region and Pardubický Region

Jižní Morava - Vysočina Region and Jihomoravský Region Střední Morava - Olomoucký Region and Zlínský Region

Moravskoslezskó - Moravskoslezský Region