EXPLANATORY NOTES ON METHODOLOGY

- 1. **Municipalities** are shown under the territorial structure effective as at 1 January 2010. The figures on municipalities refer to 2009 unless stated otherwise.
- 2. Municipality (OBEC): a basic territorial self-governing community of citizens; it forms territorial unit defined by the community borders. It has one or more cadastral territories. It is a public corporation, has its own property and acts in its own name in legal relations assuming responsibilities stemming from these relations. For some, also statistical purposes, military districts are also considered as municipalities. There are five military districts in the Czech Republic: Brdy, Boletice, Hradiště, Březina, and Libavá. There were 6250 municipalities in the Czech Republic on 1 January 2010. Municipalities with a special status are highlighted in the Lexicon: statutory cities by capitals, towns by bold letters, market-towns by bolded italics. The Lexicon also shows city parts (MĚSTSKÉ ČÁSTI/ MĚSTSKÉ OBVODY) of the capital city of Praha and the statutory cities of Brno, Liberec, Opava, Ostrava, Pardubice, Plzeň and Ústí nad Labem.
- 3. **Municipalities with extended powers** (OBCE S ROZŠÍŘENOU PŮSOBNOSTÍ) are defined by Act No 314/2002 Sb., of 13 June 2002. Municipalities are assigned to the municipalities with extended powers by the Ministry of the Interior's Decree No 388/2004 of 24 June 2004 amending Decree No 388/2002 Sb., on establishment of 'administrative districts of municipalities with authorized municipal office' and 'administrative districts of municipalities with extended powers'. Shown in this column for the capital city of Praha is the belonging of the city parts to administrative districts (i.e. to Praha 1 to 22 where authorities of these city parts exercise a large part of state administration for inhabitants of the remaining 35 city parts).
- 4. Each municipality part (ČÁST OBCE) can be defined in two ways. Given the fact that it is a unit of the territorial division of the country, which appears on the official list of municipalities and municipality parts, (i.e. in the Statistical Lexicon of Municipalities of the Czech Republic 2005). Unless municipality is divided into parts, it is considered as one municipality part for the needs of statistics. From the subject-matter point of view, however, the municipality part is composed of a group of houses having a common name and land-registry numbers from one numerical series. In the towns of Praha, Brno, Plzeň, Pardubice and Opava some parts of municipalities are divided by boarders of city part or city district giving rise to subdivisions of municipality part statistical municipality part. For administrative and territorial units, i.e. region, district, administrative district of municipality with extended powers and municipality, the tables show the number of municipality parts. For city parts and city districts of the above towns the number of subdivisions of municipality part is given.
- 5. Cadastral territory (KATASTRÁLNÍ ÚZEMÍ): a continuous complex of pieces of land registered together. Cadastral territories cover the whole territory of the country. In addition to the cadastral territory concept, the concept of territorial technical unit (ÚZEMNĚ TECHNICKÁ JEDNOTKA) is also used. These units are identical with cadastral territories except those, which are split by municipality or city district borders (e.g. in Praha, Brno, Plzeň).
- 6. Cadastral area (KATASTRÁLNÍ VÝMĚRA): area of the cadastral territory of a municipality. For the towns of Praha, Brno, Opava, Pardubice, Plzeň a Ústí nad Labem, figures on the area are also given for city parts, whose cadastral territories have not yet been defined (split cadastral territories). These areas are estimated in compliance with Geographic Information System as a sum of areas of Territorial and Technical Units based on values of cadastral territory areas according to data provided by the Land Survey Office and under graphic layers of enumeration district registry as at 1 January 2010. The figures were taken over from the Czech Office for Surveying, Mapping and Cadastre and always refer to 31 December 2009. The summary tables for districts and regions give the official area of districts/regions, also provided by the Czech Office for Surveying, Mapping and Cadastre.
- 7. **Population:** the data are taken over from the population balance as at 31 December 2009 and adjusted to correspond to the territorial structure in force as at 1 January 2010. Information on populations in city parts of the statutory towns of Brno, Liberec, Opava, Ostrava, Plzeň,

- Pardubice a Ústí nad Labem are not available and only totals referring to the 1 March 2001 Population and Housing Census are given.
- 8. **Post offices**: The post office provides all-embracing postal services (receiving and delivering of letter-mail items and other services for citizens, enterprises, institutions and organizations) and has its own postcode. The data are taken over from the database of the Czech Post Office.
- 9. **Basic schools:** all establishments of primary and lower secondary education: schools with reduced number of classes or nine-year schools (marked with * and 1, respectively). However, only the higher school type (marked with 1) is marked for municipalities where both types exist. The data is taken from the database of the Institute of Information on Education of the CR and checked by available surveys of the Czech Statistical Office.
- 10. Health establishments: combined outpatient health care establishments, outpatient health care establishments, hospitals, special therapeutic institutions including those for long-term patients, other inpatient establishments, independent surgeries of physicians and other independent establishments, including detached workplaces. The data is taken from the basic database of the Institute of Health Information and checked by available surveys of the Czech Statistical Office.
- 11. Data on **sewerage**, **public water and gas supply systems** in municipalities, published in the Lexicon in previous years, is not updated in databases of the Czech Statistical Office since 2006. For that reason these variables have been replaced by others (completed dwellings in 2006-2008 in total, in houses and by the enterprise-type statistical units).
- 12. **Dwellings completed** are dwellings which were approved before the end of the reference period by the planning and building control authority as duly finished and ready for use. Counted are dwellings in residential buildings and in other buildings, including all types of extensions, dwellings in community care service homes and boarding houses, and dwellings in non-residential buildings (including dwellings obtained by conversion of non-residential spaces).
- 13. **Family house** /house/ is a construction in which more than half of the overall useful floor space is designed for residential purposes. Each family house can have a maximum of three independent dwellings, not more than two storeys above the ground, and an attic.
- 14. **Population change 2001-2009** is an increase (+) or decrease (-) of population in comparison with the latest Population an housing census (1 March 2001).