EXPLANATORY NOTES ON METHODOLOGY

- 1. *Municipalities* are shown under the territorial structure effective as at 1 January 2008. The figures on municipalities refer to 2007 unless stated otherwise.
- 2. Municipality (OBEC): a basic territorial self-governing community of citizens; it forms territorial unit defined by the community borders. It has one or more cadastral territories. It is a public corporation, has its own property and acts in its own name in legal relations assuming responsibilities stemming from these relations. For some, also statistical purposes, military districts are also considered as municipalities. There are five military districts in the Czech Republic: Brdy, Boletice, Hradiště, Březina, and Libavá. There were 6249 municipalities in the Czech Republic on 1 January 2008. Municipalities with a special status are highlighted in the Lexicon : statutory cities by capitals, towns by bold letters, market-towns by bolded italics. The Lexicon also shows city parts (MĚSTSKÉ ČÁSTI/ MĚSTSKÉ OBVODY) of the capital city of Praha and the statutory cities of Brno, Liberec, Opava, Ostrava, Pardubice, Plzeň and Ústí nad Labem.
- 3. Municipality under jurisdiction of the registry office is shown in the "Amendment to the Decree No. 660/2004 Sb, amending the Decree of the Ministry of Interior No. 207/2001 Sb., implementing the Act No. 301/200 Sb., to regulate Registry". Codes of municipalities with registry office are described in final part of the publication, which is focused on territorial districts of municipalities with registry office. Municipalities with extended powers (OBCE S ROZŠÍŘENOU PŮSOBNOSTÍ) are defined by Act No 314/2002 Sb., of 13 June 2002. Municipalities are assigned to the municipalities with extended powers by the Ministry of the Interior's Decree No 388/2004 of 24 June 2004 amending Decree No 388/2002 Sb., on establishment of 'administrative districts of municipalities with extended powers'. Shown in this column for the capital city of Praha is the belonging of the city parts to administrative districts (i.e. to Praha 1 to 22 where authorities of these city parts exercise a large part of state administration for inhabitants of the remaining 35 city parts).
- 4. Each municipality part (ČÁST OBCE) can be defined in two ways. Given the fact that it is a unit of the territorial division of the country, which appears on the official list of municipalities and municipality parts, (i.e. in the Statistical Lexicon of Municipalities of the Czech Republic 2005). Unless municipality is divided into parts, it is considered as one municipality part for the needs of statistics. From the subject-matter point of view, however, the municipality part is composed of a group of houses having a common name and land-registry numbers from one numerical series. In the towns of Praha, Brno, Plzeň, Pardubice and Opava some parts of municipality part statistical municipality part. For administrative and territorial units, i.e. region, district administrative district of municipality with extended powers and municipality the tables show the number of municipality parts, for city parts and city districts of the above towns the number of subdivisions of municipality part is given.
- 5. Cadastral territory (KATASTRÁLNÍ ÚZEMÍ): a continuous complex of pieces of land registered together. Cadastral territories cover the whole territory of the country. In addition to the cadastral territory concept, the concept of territorial technical unit (ÚZEMNĚ TECHNICKÁ JEDNOTKA) is also used. These units are identical with cadastral territories except those, which are split by municipality or city district borders (e.g. in Praha, Brno, Plzeň).
- 6. Cadastral area (KATASTRÁLNÍ VÝMĚRA): area of the cadastral territory of a municipality. For the towns of Praha, Brno, Opava, Pardubice, Plzeň a Ústí nad Labem, figures on the area are also given for city parts, whose cadastral territories have not yet been defined (split cadastral territories). These areas are estimated in compliance with Geographic Information System as a sum of areas of Territorial and Technical Units based on values of cadastral territory areas according to data provided by the Land Survey Office and under graphic layers of enumeration district registry as at 1 January 2008. The figures were taken over from the Czech Office for Surveying, Mapping and Cadastre and always refer to 31 December 2007. The summary tables for districts and regions give the official area of districts/regions, also provided by the Czech Office for Surveying, Mapping and Cadastre.

- **7. Population:** the data are taken over from the population balance as at 31 December 2006 and adjusted to correspond to the territorial structure in force as at 1 January 2007. Information on populations in city parts of the statutory towns of Brno, Liberec, Opava, Ostrava, Plzeň, Pardubice a Ústí nad Labem are not available and only totals referring to the 1 March 2001 Population and Housing Census are given.
- 8. **Post offices**: Post offices (designated with 1) cover post centres, post branches and places of posting (all designated with *). The post office provides all-embracing postal services (receiving and delivering of letter-mail items and other services for citizens, enterprises, institutions and organizations) and has its own postcode. The post centre provides chosen postal services and has no postcode of its own. The post branch provides posting services largely through a private person in the framework of its activity (e.g. trade) on a contractual basis. Its postcode is derived from the postcode of its mother post office. The place of posting does not offer delivery services, but it has its own postcode.
- 9. Basic schools: all establishments of primary and lower secondary education: schools with reduced number of classes or nine-year schools (marked with * and 1, respectively). However, only the higher school type (marked with 1) is marked for municipalities where both types exist. The data are taken over from the database of the Institute of Information on Education of the CR and are supplemented where possible with survey results obtained by the CZSO's regional offices.
- 10. **Health establishments**: combined outpatient health care establishments, outpatient health care establishments, hospitals, special therapeutic institutions including those for long-term patients, other inpatient establishments, independent surgeries of physicians and other independent establishments, including detached workplaces. The data are taken over from the basic database of the Institute of Health Information and Statistics of the CR and supplemented where possible with survey results obtained by the CZSO's regional offices.
- 11. **Police**: all district units of the Police of the CR, including their detached units and units of municipal police.
- 12. **Sewerage** (piped to a municipal wastewater treatment plant): pipelines and channels used to pass sewage water from individual real estates to a wastewater treatment plant.
- 13. **Running water**: water pipelines designed to supply water from public water mains, irrespective of whether they are owned by a water management organisation of municipality, agricultural cooperative or other legal entity.
- 14. **Gas availability**: a state when a municipality is connected to a pipeline supplying gas from a central source.
- 15. Availability of running water, gas and sewerage connected to a wastewater treatment plant in municipality is also shown even if it applies to a part of municipality only. However, if a part split off a municipality to become an independent municipality and only this part was provided with piped water, sewerage or gas connection, the original municipality is not reported as being provided with these utilities.