25. ADMINISTRATIVE DISTRICTS, MUNICIPALITIES

The Act No. 314/2002 Sb. of 13 June 2002, which became effective on 1 January 2003, laid down the list of **municipalities with extended powers** and **municipalities with authorized municipal office**. Following to this Act, the Ministry of the Interior of the CR issued its Decree No. 388/2002 Sb. establishing administrative districts of these municipalities. The Decree No. 388/2004 Sb. of 24 June 2004 and effective on 1 January 2005 modified the classification of municipalities to administrative districts by amending the decree of 2002.

A **town** means a municipality, which has been granted the status of town pursuant to the Act on Municipalities. Tables **25**-10 and **25**-11 give an overview of towns in the respective regions in an alphabetical order. Table **25**-12 contains selected data on regional towns of the Czech Republic in the order by the size of population.

A **municipality** is a basic territorial self-governing community of citizens. It forms a territorial unit defined by boundaries. Table **25**-13 gives selected data on respective municipalities pooled together to make administrative districts of municipalities with extended powers (according to the territorial structure valid as at 31 December 2010). The figure in brackets following the name of an administrative district is an official numerical code corresponding to the nomenclature issued by the CZSO.

The **population** at population census means the number of persons registered for the permanent residence in some of the municipalities of the administrative district. Since 2001 this number also includes foreigners with a long-term residence on the relevant territory. Data were grossed up to the territorial structure valid as at 31 December 2010.

The **unemployment rate** was calculated as a share of the number of available job applicants as at 31 December of the relevant year and the number of economically active persons according to the Population and Housing Census as at 1 March 2001.

The **facilities of municipalities** were determined by means of territorial method (including detached workplaces) regardless of the head office or seat of the operator. The municipality is considered to be equipped with the given facility, if one part of the municipality, as minimum, is equipped with it. The number of economic entities includes also entities, which have their head office or seat (not only a branch) on the given territory and are economically active (the CZSO has no report on their inactivity).