## Methodological notes of external trade in goods according to the movement (cross-border concept)

The source of data on external trade is information collected by customs authorities. Starting from processing of the January 2004 data, data collection and the first check are carried out by the Customs Administration of the Czech Republic, whereas the Czech Statistical Office is in charge of further data processing, checks and publishing.

In compliance with the binding regulations of the EU, the measurement of data on exports and imports is governed by Customs Act No 13/1993 Coll., as amended; by Decree No 421/2012 Coll., on trade with third countries implementing certain provisions of the customs act (by the Ministry of Finance of the CR) as amended, effective since 23 November 2012. Intrastat is governed by Decree No 201/2005 Coll., on statistics of exported and imported goods and on the way of sharing data on trade with the other Member States of the European Communities, as amended; and by Act No 235/2004 Coll., on Value Added Tax, as amended.

External trade statistics is made up of the sum of intra-Community trade (trade with the EU Member States) and trade with non-EU countries. Data on goods traded between Member States of the Communities are supplied by reporting units to the customs office on the Intrastat forms, with information on dispatches of goods or arrivals of goods. Data on imported and exported goods in trade with non-EU countries are given in a Single Administrative Document.

Data on exports are compiled by country of destination and data on imports are compiled by country of origin.

Data on external trade in USD and in EUR are calculated, using average monthly exchange rate in a given period as reported by the Czech National Bank.

The data for individual months of 2013 and 2014 are preliminary. Preliminary data of the reference month are released together with updated data of the previous three months.

Casual differences on the last digit position arise from rounding off the absolute number.

EU28 (European Union) - member states of the European Union from 1 July 2013:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

Eurozone18:

Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain

Neighbouring countries: Austria, Germany, Poland, Slovakia