EXPLANATORY NOTES ON METHODOLOGY

- 1. *Municipalities* (obce) are given in the territorial structure effective as at 1 January 2020. The figures on municipalities are for 2019, unless otherwise stated.
- 2. A municipality (obec) is a basic territorial self-governing community of citizens. It forms a territorial unit defined by the municipality borders. It comprises of one or more cadastral districts. Legally, it is a public corporation, has its own property, and acts in its own name in legal relations assuming responsibilities stemming from these relations. Military districts are also considered as municipalities for certain purposes, including statistical ones, among others. There are four military districts in the Czech Republic: Boletice, Hradiště, Březina, and Libavá. There were 6 258 municipalities in the Czech Republic as at 1 January 2020. Municipalities with a special status are highlighted in the Lexicon: statutory cities are in capitals, towns are in bold letters, and market towns are in bold italics. The Lexicon also gives city parts / city districts (městské části / městské obvody) of the Capital City of Praha and of the statutory cities of Brno, Liberec, Opava, Ostrava, Pardubice, Plzeň, and Ústí nad Labem.
- 3. Municipalities with extended powers MEPs (obce s rozšířenou působností ORP) are defined by the Act No. 314/2002 Sb. of 13 June 2002. Municipalities are assigned to the municipalities with extended powers by the Decree of the Ministry of the Interior of the CR No. 388/2004 of 24 June 2004 amending the Decree of the Ministry of the Interior of the CR No. 388/2002 Sb. of 15 August 2002 establishing administrative districts of municipalities with extended powers. For the Capital City of Praha administrative districts are given, which city parts belong to (i.e. to administrative districts of Praha 1 to Praha 22 when authorities of these city districts exercise a great part of public administration for inhabitants of the remaining 35 city parts).
- 4. A municipality part (část obce) can be defined two ways. It is a unit of the territorial division of the country, which is published on the official list of municipalities and municipality parts (i.e. in the Statistical Lexicon of Municipalities of the Czech Republic 2013). Unless municipality is subdivided into several parts, it is considered as one municipality part for the needs of statistics. From the subject-matter point of view, however, the municipality part is a group of houses having a common name and houses' numbers of one numerical series. In the towns of Praha, Brno, Plzeň, Pardubice, and Opava some municipality parts are divided by borders of city parts and/or city districts and thus subdivisions of municipality parts are formed statistical municipality parts. For administrative and territorial units, i.e. region, district, administrative district of municipality with extended powers, and municipality the tables give the numbers of municipality parts. For city parts and city districts of the aforementioned towns the numbers of subdivisions of municipality parts are given, too.
- 5. A cadastral district (katastrální území) forms a continuous and jointly registered set of lands (plots). Cadastral territories cover the whole territory of the country. In addition to the cadastral territory concept, the concept of the territorial technical unit (územně technická jednotka) is also used from time to time. These units are identical with cadastral districts, except for those cadastral districts, which are subdivided by municipality part and/or city district borders (e.g. in Praha, Brno, and Plzeň).
- 6. A cadastral area (katastrální výměra) means an area of the cadastral district of a municipality. For the towns of Praha, Brno, Opava, Pardubice, Plzeň, and Ústí nad Labem, figures on the area are also given for city parts, whose cadastral districts have not been defined yet (subdivided cadastral districts). In these cases the areas are estimated according to a GIS as a sum of areas of territorial technical units based on values of cadastral district areas according to data provided by the Czech Office for Surveying, Mapping and Cadastre (COSMC) and according to graphic layers of the Register of Census Districts as at 1 January 2020. Data for municipalities were taken over from the COSMC as at 31 December 2019.
- 7. The data on the **population** were taken over from the running population balance as at 31 December 2019 and adjusted to correspond to the territorial structure in force as at 1 January 2020. The data on the populations of city parts / city districts of the statutory towns of Brno, Liberec, Opava, Ostrava, Plzeň, Pardubice, and Ústí nad Labem are not available

and therefore the population given is the number of usually residing inhabitants as at 26 March 2011 that was found in the 2011 Population and Housing Census.

- 8. Immigrants with registered residence for 2011-2019.
- 9. Emigrants with registered residence for 2011-2019.
- 10. **Number of municipalities in 1930 (1961)** existed in 1930 (1961) and located in the area of a recent municipality. If the 1930 (1961) municipality has been split into two or more recent municipalities, it is counted only once in that municipality where the core or the major part of the joining municipality is located.